Navigation auf uzh.ch

Suche

Department of Banking and Finance

FAQ for Students

Do I have to find my own topic for my thesis?

Generally, yes. Students must find their topic and upload it as a research proposal into the Department of Finance thesis market. Sometimes, supervisors also post specific topics that can be selected to work on. Please apply via the thesis tool for these topics. Despite those provided topics, we recommend thinking of your own topic proactively, as the given topics are very limited.

Can I submit more than one research proposal at once to the Department of Finance Thesis Market?

Yes, this is possible. Please make sure that you delete the remaining proposals on the thesis market as soon as you have found a supervisor. If you cannot delete them anymore, email theses@bf.uzh.ch so we can delete them for you.

Should I write my research proposal in German or English?

It is best to write the research proposal in the language in which you intend to write your thesis. When uploading your research proposal, you can choose the language in which you prefer to write your thesis. If you are open to writing your thesis in German or English, we recommend writing the research proposal in English as certain supervisors only supervise the thesis in English.

Can I write my thesis with a company or an external supervisor?

Yes, that is generally possible. Please contact theses@bf.uzh.ch with the contact details of the person with whom you would like to write your thesis. We will then contact them with the relevant information. Please still upload your research proposal to the Department of Finance Thesis Market with the comment that you will write your thesis with an external supervisor.

What are the paper's formatting requirements (font, size, line spacing, etc.)?

This depends on who is supervising your thesis. First, check the following page to see if there are any guidelines uploaded by your supervisor.

In addition, you may find further information in the assignment. If there are no explicit instructions, it would be best to discuss this matter with your supervisor.

Which citation standard should be used?

This depends on who is supervising your thesis. First, check the following page to see if there are any guidelines uploaded by your supervisor.

If nothing is given, you can choose which citation standard you want to use. It is important that this is consistent throughout the entire paper. In case there is specific information in the thesis assignment, please use the one mentioned there.

Which sources should not be used?

Non-public or unverified sources should not be cited. Forums, public encyclopaedias (e.g. Wikipedia) and texts generated with artificial intelligence are not recommended. The primary source should be used and cited.

Do I have to defend my bachelor's or master's thesis?

Generally, there is no requirement to defend your bachelor's or master's thesis at the Department of Finance. However, please note that for the Master in Quantitative Finance, you must defend your master’s thesis. If a supervisor requires explicitly an oral defence, this will be communicated before you start your thesis.

I have not been contacted by a supervisor yet, and I uploaded the thesis over 1 month ago. What can I do?

Please upload your research proposal to the Thesis Tool at least 1 month before you want to start your thesis. Your research proposal may not be accepted by a supervisor despite early uploading. Review your research proposal again and see if the idea is feasible. Can you improve the research proposal? If you have another idea, you can also upload two different research proposals to increase your chances of finding a suitable supervisor.

In urgent cases, you can contact the following email address: theses@bf.uzh.ch

Navigation auf uzh.ch

Suche

Institut für Banking und Finance

FAQ Studierende

Muss ich mein eigenes Thema für meine Bachelor- oder Masterarbeit finden?

Grundsätzlich ja. Studierende müssen ihr eigenes Thema finden und ihr Research Proposal via DBF Thesis Market einreichen. Manchmal veröffentlichen Betreuer:innen auch spezifische Themen, für welche sich interessierte Studierende via DBF Thesis Market bewerben. Trotz der ausgeschriebenen Themen empfehlen wir proaktiv ein eigenes Thema zu überlegen, da die Anzahl der ausgeschriebenen Themen begrenzt sind.

Darf ich mehr als einen Forschungsvorschlag gleichzeitig via DBF Thesis Market einreichen?

Ja, das ist möglich. Bitte stelle sicher, dass du die übrigen Vorschläge auf dem DBF Thesis Market löschst, sobald du eine Betreuungsperson gefunden hast. Falls du diese nicht mehr löschen kannst, schreibe eine E-Mail an theses@bf.uzh.ch, damit wir die übrigen Vorschläge für dich löschen können.

Sollte ich mein Research Proposal auf Deutsch oder Englisch verfassen?

Am besten verfasst du dein Research Proposal in der Sprache, in der du deine Arbeit schreiben möchtest. Beim Hochladen deines Research Proposals kannst du die Sprache angeben, in welcher du deine Arbeit verfassen möchtest. Falls du offen bist, deine Arbeit auf Deutsch oder Englisch zu schreiben, empfehlen wir dir, das Research Proposal auf Englisch zu verfassen, da einige Betreuungspersonen nur englische Arbeiten betreuen können.

Kann ich meine Arbeit mit einem Unternehmen oder einer externen Betreuungsperson schreiben?

Ja, das ist grundsätzlich möglich. Bitte kontaktiere theses@bf.uzh.ch mit den Kontaktdaten der Person, mit der du deine Arbeit schreiben möchtest. Wir werden die Anfrage überprüfen und der externen Betreuungsperson die relevanten Informationen zukommen lassen. Bitte lade dein Research Proposal trotzdem ins DBF Thesis Market, mit dem Kommentar, dass du deine Arbeit mit einer externen Betreuungsperson schreiben wirst.

Gibt es Formatierungsanforderungen (Schriftart, Größe, Zeilenabstand etc.) für die Arbeit?

Dies hängt davon ab, wer deine Arbeit betreut. Überprüfe zuerst die folgende Seite, ob es diesbezüglich Vorgaben bei den jeweiligen Professor:innen gibt.

Darüber hinaus findest du möglicherweise weitere Informationen in der Aufgabenstellung. Wenn es keine expliziten Anweisungen gibt, kannst du diese Frage direkt mit deiner Betreuungsperson besprechen.

Welcher Zitierstandard sollte verwendet werden?

Dies hängt davon ab, wer deine Arbeit betreut. Überprüfe zuerst die folgende Seite, ob es diesbezüglich Vorgaben bei den jeweiligen Professor:innen gibt. Falls nicht anders abgemacht, kannst du selbst entscheiden, welchen Zitierstandard du verwenden möchtest. Wichtig ist, dass dieser über die Arbeit hinweg einheitlich gehandhabt wird.

Welche Quellen sollten nicht verwendet werden?

Nicht öffentliche oder unbestätigte Quellen sollten nicht zitiert werden. Foren, öffentliche Enzyklopädien (z.B. Wikipedia) und mit künstlicher Intelligenz generierte Texte sollten nicht verwendet werden. Dabei sollten die Primärquellen genutzt und zitiert werden.

Muss ich meine Bachelor- oder Masterarbeit verteidigen?

Grundsätzlich besteht keine Anforderung, deine Bachelor- oder Masterarbeit am Institut für Banking und Finance zu verteidigen. Beachte jedoch, dass für den Master in Quantitative Finance eine Verteidigung deiner Masterarbeit erforderlich ist. Falls deine Betreuungsperson eine mündliche Verteidigung verlangt, wird dies vor Beginn deiner Arbeit kommuniziert.

Ich wurde noch nicht von einer Betreuungsperson kontaktiert und habe mein Research Proposal vor mehr als einem Monat im DBF Thesis Market hochgeladen. Was kann ich tun?

Es kann sein, dass dein Research Proposal trotz frühzeitiger Ankündigung von keiner Betreuungsperson angenommen wurde. Überprüfe dein Research Proposal erneut bezüglich der Umsetzbarkeit. Kann das Research Proposal verbessert werden? Falls du zudem eine weitere Idee hast, kannst du auch zwei verschiedene Research Proposals hochladen, um die Chance zu erhöhen, eine passende Betreuungsperson zu finden. In dringenden Fällen kannst du folgende E-Mail-Adresse kontaktieren: theses@bf.uzh.ch.